Eliminating Violence Against Women Media Awards
Font Size:

[Left to right] Megan Norris, Todd Harper, Lisa Whitehead, Tamara Oudyn,
Liz Cincotta, Maxine Morand, Heather Gallagher,
Penny Stephens, Fiona Willan & James Kelly

The 2008 EVAs

The Inaugural EVAs Media Award Presentations 2008 were a great success, with an attendance of 100 guests, drawing together media, government, community and business sectors, celebrating the achievements of all participants and honouring the 2008 winners.


Held on May 13, 2008 at The Sir Redmond Barry Room, Melbourne, all winners were awarded by Maxine Morand MLA, previous Minister for Women's Affairs and Children and Early Childhood Development and Todd Harper, CEO, VicHealth.


The ceremony hosted engaging speakers, including Simon Overland, ex Chief Commissioner of Victoria Police and Fiona McCormack, CEO, DV Vic.



2008 Award Winners

The Gold EVA

Winner: Heather Gallagher, Home Terror Crisis – Series, The Northcote Leader



Best News / Current Affairs Report (Item or Series)

Winner: Heather Gallagher, Home Terror Crisis – Series

The Northcote Leader


Best Feature in Print (Newspaper)

Winner: Adam Cresswell, Battle Against Violence Can Never End

Weekend Australian


Best Feature in Print (Newspaper)

Highly Commended: Liz Cincotta, Set Free

The Age


Best Opinion

Winner: John Silvester, Murder is Murder

The Age


Best Suburban/Community Report

Winner: Fiona Willan, Murphy's Law Upheld

Diamond Valley Leader


Best Regional/ Rural Report

Winner: James Kelly, Men Confront Their Battle Against Family Violence

The Courier, Ballarat


Best Magazine Report

Winner: Megan Norris, I Sent My Violent Partner to Jail

New Woman Magazine


Best Photograph

Winner: Penny Stephens, Family Men

The Age


Best Radio Interview

Winner: Kathy Bedford, Interview with Police Assistant Commissioner Leigh Gassner

ABC Victoria State-wide Drive


Best Television Current Affairs (less than 20 mins) [Joint Winners]

Winner: Lisa Whitehead, Domestic Violence and Animal Abuse

7.30 Report, ABC Television


Best Television Current Affairs (less than 20 mins) [Joint Winners]

Winner: Tamara Oudyn, Micro Finance

Stateline, ABC News and Current Affairs 


Best Television Documentary (more than 20 mins)

Winner: Wendy Page, Ian Harley, Mike Chergwin, Colin Cosier, Estelle Blackburn

Australian Story, ABC Television